• Simple Item 1
  • Simple Item 3
  • Simple Item 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

History

Records show that a school building made of vertical slab walls and a bark roof and lined with bark was built for Dr. Henry Backhaus at Kangaroo Flat in 1860.

Pupils attended under the care of a Miss. Wall 1859-1860. This bark school is believed to have been situated within the boundary of the present school grounds. The original Church built at St. Monica's in 1864 was used as a Church School. This building was constructed from bricks fired in the open from clay obtained from the present school oval area. The moulding and firing of these bricks was a unique process..

CEOSLOGO-sm


The Sandhurst Catholic Education Office and Schools acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land on which their Offices and Schools are built. We commit to working in partnership with Aboriginal people for reconciliation and justice.

Believe !     Imagine !     Serve !
KanePaintingStongerSmall